Get Driving, and Get Your License Faster with Premier!

Changes to Indiana state law, as of July 1, 2015 allow drivers who complete driver’s education courses, like the ones offered by Premier, to receive their probationary license a full 6-months before those who haven’t taken driver’s education (previously, it was 3-months). PLEASE NOTE: regardless of your age you must hold your Indiana Learner's Permit at least 180 days before receiving your license. If you wish to get your license as early as possible you must get your Driver's Ed Learner's Permit prior to 15 years and 9 months of age.

Learner Permit Requirements

You must log at least 50 hours of supervised practice driving (10 hours must be nighttime driving).
Eligibility:
15 years with driver’s ed (Must start driver’s education class prior to practice driving)
16 years without driver’s ed
Supervised Driving Requirements:
Under 18 – Supervisor may be a licensed instructor working through a driving school, a licensed driver at least 25 years old and related by blood, marriage or legal status, or a spouse over age 21 with valid driving privileges.
Over 18 – May be any licensed driver over age 25 or a spouse over age 21. A copy of the BMV driving log must be submitted when applying for a new license.
See the Indiana BMV Website for a complete list of details.

Probationary License Requirements

If you are younger than 21 years of age when you obtain a driver’s license, your driver’s license is considered probationary until you turn 21 years of age. Your probationary driver’s license is valid until you are 21 years and 30 days of age. You may not renew your probationary driver’s license until you are 21 years and one day of age.
See the Indiana BMV Website for a complete list of details.
Eligibility:
16 years and 90 days with driver’s ed (You must have held your Driver's Ed Learner's Permit for at least 180 days)
16 years and 270 days without driver’s ed (You must have held your Learner's Permit for at least 180 days)
Driver's License Time Restrictions:
For the first 180 days after obtaining your probationary driver's license, you may not drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. After you have held a probationary driver's license for 180 days, you may not drive during the following hours:
  • Sunday through Thursday after 11 p.m.
  • Monday through Friday before 5 a.m.
  • Saturday and Sunday between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.
You may drive during the periods described above if you are participating in, going to, or returning from:
  • Lawful employment
  • A school-sanctioned activity
  • A religious event, or
  • If you are accompanied by an individual with valid (not expired, suspended, or revoked) driving privileges who is at least 25 years of age, or your spouse with valid driving privileges who is at least 21 years of age.
Cell Phones/Texting:
Prohibits individuals under age 21 from using any type of telecommunication device for any purpose while operating a vehicle except for making emergency 911 calls.
Nighttime Driving Prohibition:
Up to age 18 – Restricted 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. for first 180 days of driving.
Up to age 21 – After first 180 days: restricted Sun.-Thurs.,11 p.m. to 5 a.m. the following morning; restricted Sat. and Sun. mornings, 1 a.m. to 5 a.m.
Exemptions: Lawful employment, school-sanctioned activity, religious event or if accompanied by a licensed driver 25 years or older or your spouse with valid driving privileges who is at least 21 years of age. See the Indiana BMV Website for a complete list of details.
Passenger Restrictions:
Up to age 21 – No passengers for the first 180 days unless accompanied by a licensed instructor, licensed driver 25 years or older or your spouse with valid driving privileges who is at least 21 years of age.
Exemptions: a sibling, step-sibling, child, step-child or spouse of the driver.
Violation Penalties:
Violation of any part of this law is a class C infraction which carries a fine of up to $500 plus court costs. All occupants must be properly buckled up.

Get more details at the Indiana BMV

The above is just a short synopsis. For more detailed information, please see the Indiana BMV website.

Learn More